Our shop is now open 10am - 6.45pm 7 days a week. Julia is available for face to face clairvoyant readings and healing on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays (11am-6pm). Brian, Roz, and Saira will continue to work distantly by telephone, WhatsApp or Zoom video call until further notice. For appointments please call 02088532733 / 08001601061 or email store@steppingstonesgreenwich.co.uk.

  1. Home
  2. Blog

What are the seven Chakras?

You are most likely to have heard the term Chakra before if you practice tantric exercises or yoga.  The concept of chakra features heavily in these traditions of Hinduism and Buddhism. 

The term chakra means “wheel” or “disc”, chakras are energy centres in the body through which energy freely flows.  There are seven major chakras which can be found within the body and in this blog we will explore where each chakra is located.

If any of these energy centres become blocked we may find ourselves unwell, so it is important to understand what each chakra represents so that we can understand what causes us to become unwell and ensure that we keep the energy in our bodies flowing freely.

Our seven chakras are connected to our bodies on many different levels including physical, emotional, mental and spiritual.  Each chakra is also each connected to an organ, gland or system within our bodies and resonates to a particular colour.  Our chakras are able to receive information from our environment and also radiate their own energy out to the environment.

If any of your chakras constantly receive negative energies or some form of bad “pollution” from your environment then they could become unbalanced and you may find yourself feeling unwell.  Understanding your chakra system, what each chakra represents, and how it works, may help you to improve your health.

These are the seven chakras and the different parts of your body that they represent.

First Chakra – Root

The root chakra is found at the base of your spine.  This chakra relates to survival, safety and security and resonates with the colour red.  Issues in your life that could be affected by this chakra include money, food, material possessions and business.

Second Chakra – Sacral

The sacral Chakra is found two inches below your naval.  This chakra relates to creativity, well-being, pleasure, sexuality and self-worth and resonates with the colour orange.  Issues that could arise if this chakra becomes blocked include becoming emotionally explosive, manipulative or lacking in energy.

Third Chakra – Solar Plexus

The third chakra is found in the upper abdomen.  This chakra relates to self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem and resonates with the colour yellow.  If this chakra becomes out of balance you could experience lack of confidence, confusion, worrying about what others think and feeling depressed.

Fourth Chakra – Heart

This fourth chakra is found in the heart.  This chakra relates to our love, joy and inner peace and resonates with the colour green.  When this chakra becomes unbalanced you may experience feelings of paranoia, indecisiveness or a fear of getting hurt or letting go.

Fifth Chakra – Throat

The fifth chakra is found in the throat.  This chakra relates to communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth and resonates with the colour blue.  If this chakra becomes blocked you may find that you feel shy, timid, weak or like you cannot express your thoughts.

Sixth Chakra – Third Eye

The sixth chakra is referred to as the third eye and is located above your eyes on your forehead.  This chakra relates to intuition, imagination, wisdom, and our ability to think and make decisions, it resonates with the colour indigo.  When this chakra is unbalanced we may feel egotistical or non-assertive.

Seventh Chakra – Crown

The seventh chakra is found in our crown, just behind the top of the skull.  This chakra relates to our inner and outer beauty and our spirituality and resonates with the colour violet.  If this chakra becomes unbalanced then we may feel frustrated and have destructive feelings.

If you feel like any of your seven chakras are unbalanced then during a crystal healing session we can test for which chakras are unbalanced and practice healing them to restore the health of your mind, body and soul.

Futher reading